DREAM 2.0

WHAT?

The funds from Run4Change 2022 are destined to DREAM 2.0, “Desease Relief with Excellent & Advanced Means”:

Eliminate HIV mother-to-child transmission through providing free therapy (HAART, “highly active antiretroviral therapy”) and nutrition support to HIV+ mothers before and after the birth of a child

– Children free from AIDS, no more orphans, mothers continuing to take care of their kids thanks to a reduction in maternal mortality

– Promotion of importance of women in the community

– Restoring a vital community center, which is providing humanitarian assistance and medical support also beyond its primary mandate

WHY?

– January 2021: Mozambique second largest city Beira struck by another cyclone – Eloise, just 2 years afeter Idaj damaged the local DREAM Center. The city continues to struggle with humanitarian emergency created by the storm and floods.

– The center is also supporting a vaccination campaign to fight the spread of cholera and providing relief to the community

55 000+ children are born HIV-free since inception

– Rotarian spirit at its core: 100% of the donations go to actual goods/services for the Beira Center with zero money spent on admin overhead

– Careful examination: the program is supported by scientific research and external audits like the Swiss Gemeinschaft

HOW?

Free anti-retroviral therapy for HIV + and fight against malnutrition

– Extensive strategic direction includes on-site staff integration, peer-to-peer communication model, social support and laboratory monitoring to reduce HIV

– Medical-wise, the charity has trained and is employing local staff, supported by international experts

To understand more about how Rotary Zurich International keeps the DREAM alivea at Beira, please visit the Rotary Foundation webpage.

the four pillars of Dream

Health and Baby care

Children in Africa are still the segment of the population that has the least access to care. Malnutrition, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and lack of hygiene all cause infant mortality. The DREAM programme has always considered petdiatric healthcare and nutritional support to be extremely imporant, an investment in the future of Africa.

Prevention and treatment of HIV

DREAM started countering AIDS in Africa in 2002. The programme aims to assist local health systems develop a sustainable model over time, ensuring maximum results at a minimum cost. 

The goal is not to build large hospitals, but health centres, also reaching isolated rural areas with mobile clinics and home care. 

 

A new model of public health

The DREAM programme aims to guarantee excellence in diagnostics and in the technologies adopted, by encouraging the use of teleconsultation, computerised equipment, specific software for data collection for operational research and for quality controls. 

For years DREAM has been using  molecular biology laboratories, medical data, mobile technologies and geopositioning and solar energy.

Promoting women

DREAM is particularly focused on women, because of the importance of their role in the community. Women have always been the main victims of the HIV/AIDS epidemic, even though they represent the fulcrum of the family and of African society as a whole. Encouraging women to be active and take on a conscious role is essential for spreading a new culture of healthcare. 

 

Impact of your donations

Kindergarten reopened!

Due to the COVID19 epidemic, traditional activities carried out by DREAM centers in Beira hve been disrupted since March 2020. Children attending the center were supported by distribution of food packages, however they missed their canteen that they have occupied for so many years. This is a place where kids felt as part of a close community – and yes, it’s loud and you can often hear laughter and songs.

Beira Nutrition Center is targeting the most vulnerable segment of the population, such as street children, and aims to guarantee access to food that is safe, nutritious and sufficient for their needs and to promote education by offering an investment important for the future of the wider society.

Facilities such as the nutrition center are a point of reference for the local community, committed to fighting child malnutrition by distributing quality hot meals and offering children and girls educational and play activities in a welcoming and inclusive place.

Cooking school welcoming hungry guests again!

Every Friday at the Dream Center in Beira Manga Chingussura women and their kids have the baby food school aka “escola de papinha”. During the class, activists from the program teach how to cook nutritious baby food for weaning babies. Thus, young mothers gain confidence. Weaning is a major concern for them, as they have no way to provide expensive food for their children and they don’t know how to feed them properly. Luckily, the monthly food package and nutritional counseling they receive at the DREAM center help them to manage well even a very delicate phase for the newborn, such as weaning.

DREAM 2.0

WAS?

– Die Einnahmen aus dem 2022 Run4Change gehen zugunsten von DREAM 2.0, “Disease Relief with Excellent & Advanced Means”, eine gemeinnützige Organisation zur:

– Beseitigung von Mutter- Kind HIV-Übertragung

– Gesunde Kinder, keine Weisen mehr

– Frauen werden nicht mehr marginalisiert und aus der Gesellschaft ausgeschlossen

– Wiederbelebung eines lebenswichtigen Gemeinschaftszentrums

WIESO?

– Januar 2021: Mosambiks zweitgrößte Stadt Beira wurde von einem weiteren  Zyklon – Eloise getroffen, gerade mal 2 Jahre nachdem Zyklon Idai das lokale DREAM Zentrum zerstört hatte. Die Stadt kämpft weiter mit der humanitären Krise, Folge des Wirbelsutrms und der Überflutungen

– Das Zentrum unterstützt Impfkampagnen, um die Ausbreitung von Cholera zu verhindern

– Seit Beginn des Projektes wurden 55,000+ Kinder ohne HIV geboren

– Rotarischer Geist im Kern: 100% der Spenden sind für Gegenstände und Dienstleistungen, Null Verwaltungsaufwand

– Sorgfältige Prüfung: das Programm wird unterstützt durch wissenschaftlich hinterlegte Forschungsarbeit und externe Audit

WIE?

– Kostenlose anti-retroviral Therapie gegen HIV+ und Unterernährung

– Umfangreiche strategische Ausrichtung umfasst die Eingliederung von Personal vor Ortpeer-to-peer Kommunikationsmodell , soziale Unterstützung und laboratorische Überwachung, um eine HIV-Reduktion zu erzielen

Auf der Rotary Distrikt 2000 Webseite können Sie mehr darüber erfahren wie Rotary Zurich International das Dream Projekt in Beira tatkräftig unterstützt.

die vier säulen von dream

Gesundheit und baby-fürsorge

Kinder in Afrika sind das Teil der Bevölkerung, das am wenigsten Zugang zur medizinischer Vorsorge hat. Unterernährung, HIV/AIDS, Tuberkulose, Malaria und Hygienemangel sind alle Verursacher von Kindersterblichkeit.

Das DREAM Projekt hat stets verstärkt auf pädiatrische Fürsorge und Ernährungsunterstützung gesetzt. Diese Ziele sind eine Direktinvestion in die Zukunft von Afrika.

child_care

PrÄvention Und bekämpfung von HIV

In 2002 hat DREAM AIDS in Africa den Kampf erklärt. Das Projekt unterstützt einheimische Gesundheitsorganisationen bei der Entwicklung von langfristig nachhaltigen Gesundheitslösungen, die maximale Ergebnisse mit minimalen Kosten erreichen.

Das Ziel ist mobile Gesundheitszentren zu errichten, die in entfernten Gebieten eingesetzt werden können und auch Heimfürsorge unterstützen. 

ein neues gesundheitsmodell

Das DREAM Projekt bestrebt den Einsatz von innovativen medizinischen Konzepten wie der Telemedizin. Es wird auf eine IT-basierte Software Lösung zur Datensammlug für Felduntersuchungen und Qualitätskontrolle akzentiert.

Jahrelang hat DREAM auf molekulare biotechnologische Laboratorien, mobile Datenerhebung, Geopositionierung und Solarenergie gesetzt.

frauenförderung

DREAM legt besonderen Wert auf Frauen aufgrund ihrer wichtigen Rolle in der Gesellschaft. Frauen sind immer die häufigsten Opfer der AIDS Epidemie gewesen, obwohl sie im Mittelpunkt der Familie und der afrikanischen Gesellschaft als Ganzes stehen.  Die Ermunterung von Frauen eine aktive und bewusste Rolle einzunehmen ist für die Verbreitung einer neuen Gesundheitskultur unabdingbar.

Ihre Spende dient einem guten Zweck!

Kindergarten wieder eröffnet!

Seit März 2020 wurden zahlreiche traditionelle Aktivitäten von den DREAM Einrichtungen in Beira aufgrund der Covid-19 Pandemie auf Eis gelegt. Kinder, die Beira Zentren besuchten und da mit Nahrungsmitteln versorgt wurden, haben ihre Kantine sehr vermisst. Das war ein Ort, wo die kleinen Besucher sich als Teil einer engen Familien fühlten, laut gesungen und gelacht haben.

Die Beira Versorgungszentren sind für die am meisten Benachteiligten da – die Straßenkinder. Das Projekt stellt sauberes, nahrhaftes und ausreichendes Essen für die Kleinen zur Verfügung. DREAM fördert die Ausbildung der Kinder mit der klaren Überzeugung, dass dies eine Investition in die Zukunft der ganzen Gesellschaft darstellt.

Einrichtungen wie die Kantine haben eine große Bedeutung für die einheimischen Gemeinschaften. Die Räumlichkeiten sind offen für spielerische und schulische Aktivitäten und bieten auch nahrhafte Köstlichkeiten an. Kinder haben somit ein warmes und fröhliches Zuhause.

Die Kochschule heißt ihre Geste wieder willkommen!

Jeden Freitag im Dream Zentrum Beira Manga Chingussura besuchen Mütter und ihre Kinder die Baby Kochschule, aka “escola de papinha”. Während des Kurses zeigen die Veranstallter wie man nahrhafte Baby Nahrung für Babies, die entwöhnt wurden, zubereitet. Auf deiser Weise werden junge Mütter selbstbewusster. Abstillten stellt ein großes Problem für sie dar, da sie nicht in der Lage sind teure Nahrung für ihre Kinder zu kaufen und nicht wissen wie sie die Kleinen richtig ernähren. Zusätzlich zu der Ernährungsberatung stellt DREAM zum Glück monatlich ausreichend Lebensmittel bereit, sodass junge Mütter sicher und selbstbewusst die Zeit des Abstillens meistern können.